Random Thoughts

A few days ago, my youngest son asked me a very interesting question. He is 12 years old.

His question? “At what age does bullying start?”

My quick answer was that I thought it started during toddlerhood (new word?). We don’t call it “bullying,” but isn’t that what toddlers do to each other?  You have the toy I want, so I’m going to pound on you until you give it to me, even if I don’t want to play with it. All they see is mine and mine, no right or wrong.

I have thought about what he asked, how I responded, and the bigger problem we have to discuss as a society. When DOES bullying start, and how do we deal with it?


Today is Earth Day. The one day a year that the media tells us we should “go out and make a difference.”  Why?  Why today?  Why not yesterday, or tomorrow, or next Thursday? Or the 17th of August?

If you really care, then EVERY day should be Earth Day. Although, come to think if it, the reruns of “Captain Planet & the Planeteers” would get old VERY quickly.


My oldest son is in the Marching & Concert Band at his high school. Last night, they went to see a performance of the Arizona State University Symphony. My wife and I played chaperone, and went along.

The concert was wonderful. It was held in an auditorium that was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, so the acoustics were perfect.

Duck Face Meme

What has been seen, can never be unseen.

The interesting part was the bus ride there and back. The buses are segregated. Boys in one bus, and girls in the other. I have always managed to ride on the “Boys Bus.” Except last night. I was stuck on the “Girls Bus.”  As a dad of boys, there is nothing more horrifying that being stuck with 21 teenage girls for 2 hours. If I EVER see another “Fish Lips Selfie”, I’m going to jump off a bridge.

Some of these girls have no filter between their mouth and brain. The most “enlightening” quote of the night? “If a girl doesn’t have breasts, does she have to wear a bra?”  Shoot me now…please.


Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

